
Half-Life 3 is Real
Is Valve trolling yet again, or is this confirmation?
by Nicholas Laborde
©2012 Nicholas Laborde
At this point in space and time, if anyone from Valve uttered the phrase “Half-Life 3″ the entire internet as we know it would implode upon itself and break the space time continuum, truly allowing 2012 to live up to the Mayan’s expectations.
Valve are known for trolling their fans on a consistent basis, but only because they love us so dearly.
They could be up to it yet again, or this could be concrete evidence that Half-Life 3 does in fact exist.
UPDATE #2: The website Black Aperture (here) has been updated… with a 3. So, today’s a day for HL3!
The newest blog post on the Left 4 Dead blog is our source, with the post detailing the new Mann vs. Machine cooperative update to Team Fortress 2.
At the very end of the article, they post a link to the official page on the TF2 website.
Today, Team Fortress 2 is adding co-op and robots to their game! There is only one problem – don’t worry, robots are just the zombies of the future that’s not the problem – the problem is this is 6 player co-op not 4. So you’re gonna need to find a few new friends, a younger brother, your mom, someone, anyone to join you and your three friend to fight the lethal horde of robots.
And don’t forget Team Fortress is free, so when you invite your new found friends to the game – tell ‘em you bought it for them and it set you back $50. It’s your early birthday gift to your 4th and 5th favorite people in the world…
Visit www.teamf6rtress.com/mvm/ for more information.
Since the site is fake, we do not advise signing in to Steam through this page.
Seems everyday enough, doesn’t it?
If you look at the link itself, there’s a six instead of an ‘o’ in the link. Copy that link and go to the address without clicking on it, and we have either concrete proof of Half-Life 3 or the damnedest attempt at trolling that I’ve ever seen.
Validity
The link takes you to the Steam Community page of presumably a Valve employee, where his status for current game (at the time of posting) was “Half-Life 3: Indev”.
Obvious conclusions based on the title would either be that he’s in a non-Steam game that he renamed, but if that were the case, it wouldn’t reflect the changed name on his profile page.
Adding further fuel to the fire, if you look further down the page, you can see that it’s his most played game recently, logging 28.8 hours out of 94.8 in the past two weeks.
I have many colleagues in the industry, including those whose games are on Steam, and when they are working while Steam is booted up for an unreleased game (even if the game itself is already on Steam) it simply says that they are “in-game” but without listing a title.
This could either be someone working on Half-Life 3, or a playtester who could have been given incentive to log in with their own Steam account when testing.
The vast amount of hours – nearly one hundred – does not lead me to believe that Valve is trolling.
Soon…
I assume we’ll hear more on Half-Life 3 soon.
And by Valve’s schedule, that means before we die.
Keep checking back to this article for any developments.
UPDATE #1: Further investigation reveals that the domain was a typo, yet was registered before the update. The profile page in question is fake, and is under a custom domain. But how it was pulled off and the coincidences of the situation are unsettling.
©2012 Nicholas Laborde
Filed under: 3rd Party Games, Console gaming, Game Industry News, New Game Information, New PS3 Games, New Xbox 360 Games, PC News, PC Previews, Press Release, Software News & Updates, Xbox 360 Tagged: | games, Gamescom, Half Life 3, half-life, Steam, Team Fortress, Valve, Valve Corporation














I love all this HL3 stuff its a title that surely be made now or some time down the line but theres a clue on that guys profile and that in his frends comments……… hes frend says GORDEN looks good in a beret.
COULD THIS BE SOMEONE THAT HAS SEEN IT AS WELL?
Something interesting from looking at the website for Black Aperture that reads “. . . /3″ In the image, the first of the dots is blurred in a sort of peculiar way… upon copying the image and opening in preview, and zooming into this dot, there appear to be numbers embedded into it! Can’t quite make out what they are though.. possible starting with and 8 ending with a 6??? Help out with this it could be a hint for the game!!!
Hey dudes. Notice that page teamf6rtress.com now leads to black-aperture.com
I’ve played it.
did you notice in the first dot on http://www.black-aperture.com that it shows a 8 on the left and a 5 on the right…
So… uh… who else thinks this is gonna be portal 3?
I am fairly sure all keyboards at Valve are missing the “3″ key, so no.
This may be just my conspiracy side kicking in but… 8+5 = 13, so could that mean that they have something planned for 2013?
I hope they bring back the tau gun & long jump from HL1
Goddamn, I’m sick of that mystery of long years
Hey, click the half-life-3 logo in that site… http://gyazo.com/761fb949db46e4b1d6f6e8f8e6925244.png?1345165415 it makes the website fall o.o
It’s a troll attempt by some user… This is at the bottom of the site “This is a clever disclaimer claiming that this is a parody, and makes no real attempt at spoofing the Steam Community. Spare me, Valve. I am but a humble gamer. I wish not to suffer the horrors of Origin.”
“This is a clever disclaimer claiming that this is a parody, and makes no real attempt at spoofing the Steam Community. Spare me, Valve. I am but a humble gamer. I wish not to suffer the horrors of Origin.” located on the very bottom.
Someone responded to the guy with this
DeadFOAM Aug 16, 2012 @ 12:40am
Thank’s for that hat you traded! Gordon looks good with a beret.
this is his actual steam profile according to his website
http://steamcommunity.com/id/mcmanning/
The link goes to “www.teamfortress.com/mvm/” LOOK AT THE BOTTOM LEFT OF THE SCREEN WHEN YOU HOVER YOUR MOUSE OVER THE LINK. THIS IS TROLLING BY OXCGN.
If you click the game icon in the top right, the profile quiet literally falls apart. Fail.
Call me paranoid but it could also be a really nice fishing attempt. I would warn people NOT to connect on their Steam account from there. Maybe you should had it this the article itself.